About Us  |  Site Map  |  Contact Us

    Home |  Schools & Teachings  |  Dharma Centers  |  Buddha & Bodhisattva Directory  |  Cosmos     

The Korean Buddhist Schools
Please check the following categories for more information.


Five doctrinal schools
These are academically-oriented schools, labeled together under the rubric of kyo (meaning "learning" or "study")

    1. Kyeyul (Skt. Vinaya) school: The school of the Silla was known in the Koryô as Namsang chong. Which focused on study and implementation of moral discipline.

    2. Yôlban (Skt. Nirvaana) school: The school was termed Sihûng chong. Which was based in the themes of the Mahaaparinirvaana-suutra(it elucidates the premise that "all living beings possess innate Buddhahood").

    3. Pôpsông ("dharma-nature") school: Pôpsông was termed Chungdo chong , the Pôpsang was termed Chaûn chong. The Pôpsông's hermeneutical methods were derived in great part from Hwôm, Consciousness-only and Tathaagatagarbha doctrines. It was also the organizing principle of the influential Ta-sheng ch'i-hsin lun (Awakening of Mahaayaana Faith) and many other texts of East Asian provenance. This usage of essence-function as a primary hermeneutical principle by which to harmonize apparently antagonistic doctrinal stances became a hallmark of Korean Buddhist synthetic discourse.

    4. Wôllyung (Ch. Yüan-jung) school: The school was termed Hwaôm chong. Which focuses on the actualization of the metaphysics of interpenetration as found in the Hua-yen Sutra. This school, also known in Korea as Hwaôm (Ch. Hua-yen), is the most long-lived of the Chinese imported schools.

    5. Sôn: The school is a meditation-based view of practice which came to be known as Ch'an (Chinese, meaning "meditation," widely known in the West through its Japanese variant Zen)

Other schools:

    About Us  |  Free Books   |  Site Map  |  Contact Us
Copyright © 1999-2020 Manjushri. All Rights Reserved.